Some people believe that a first-time DUI isn’t really that bad. They believe that they’ll pay a fine and get their license back, moving on with their lives pretty quickly.
One thing to remember is that even a first-time DUI could result in the loss of your license for a significant amount of time. You may go to jail for up to a year in Rhode Island, too. The factors involved in your case will make a difference as to the penalties you face, but remember that there are significant financial costs involved with any DUI.
How much does a first-time DUI cost in Rhode Island?
In Rhode Island, a first-time DUI conviction costs approximately $4,605 considering fines, the potential use of an ignition interlock device, time in jail, the cost of getting your license back, increases in insurance, lost wages and other financial consequences.
On average, people in America pay $4,100 for a first-time DUI, based on a collection of state data. That being said, your costs could be more or less depending on:
- How much your insurance goes up
- If anyone was hurt or killed as a result of driving while impaired
- If you rejected the Breathalyzer test and required additional testing
- Attorney fees
- The total of your lost wages
- Whether or not you lose your job
As you can tell from this information, getting a DUI quickly changes your life. It’s worth taking the time to talk to your attorney about how you can defend yourself. Our website has more information to help you get started with your defense and so that you can understand more about DUIs in Rhode Island.